Educators Network for Effective School Discipline


To give educators a greater voice in the discussion around school discipline, EdSource convened the Educators Network for Effective School Discipline to:

  • Provide educators a greater voice in the school discipline debate/policy making process by providing opportunities for commentaries, op-ed pieces, and articles to be written by educators and distributed through a variety of media outlets.
  • Provide opportunities for educators charged with enforcing and/or managing discipline to share best practices as they work to reduce suspensions and expulsions, and create a positive school climate.

The Educators’ Network Steering Committee is composed of administrators, teachers, and other education stakeholders interested in school discipline reform. Membership includes:

  • Rachel Bonkovsky, Executive Director of Talent Management, Los Angeles Unified School District
  • Ramona Bishop, Superintendent, Vallejo City Unified School District
  • Don Evans, Superintendent, Berkeley Unified School District
  • Carmen Garcia, Principal, San Diego High School of International Studies
  • Pedro Garcia, Principal, Thomas Alva Edison Middle School, Los Angeles
  • Paul Hernandez, Principal, Edwin Markham Middle School, Los Angeles
  • Tom Huynh, Principal, Yerba Buena High School, East Side Union High School District
  • Jorge L√≥pez, Teacher, Roosevelt High School; Member, Progressive Discipline and Safety Committee, Los Angeles Unified
  • Dale Marsden, Superintendent, San Bernardino Unified School District
  • Richard Merlo, Superintendent, Corcoran Joint Unified School District
  • Paul Meyers, Superintendent, Standard School District, Bakersfield
  • Laura Preston, Legislative Advocate, Association of California School Administrators
  • Rich Russell, Assistant Superintendent, Whittier Union High School District
  • Socorro Shiels, Superintendent, Santa Rosa Unified School District
  • Michael Stone, Teacher, Aliso Viejo Middle School, Capistrano Unified; member, California Teachers Association Board of Directors
  • Peter Wright, California School Boards Association